About WCD

The Department of Women and Child Development Department has a composite Directorate and is divided into thirteen Sections. The Directory of Officers is at Annexure-1.
The Department has an elaborate field formation with the District Social Welfare Officer (DSWO) to assist the Collector in each District and a Sub-divisional Social Welfare Officer (SSWO) in every sub-division. Besides this, there are Social Educational Organizers (SEOs) and Lady Social Educational Organizers (LSEOs) at the Block level who assist the Block Administration in implementing the social welfare programmes. In the district, each ICDS project is headed by a Child Development Project Officer (CDPO), the project is further divided into 5-6 Sectors. Each sector is headed by a Supervisor, who oversees the work of 20-25 Anganwadi Centres (AWC) functioning at the village level.
The Department has five statutory bodies, viz. (a) State Commissioner for Persons Disability (SCPD) (b) State Commission for Women (SCW) ,(c) State Commissioner for Protection of Child Rights(SCPCR) ,(d) State Social Welfare Board (SSWB) and (e) State Council for Child Welfare(SCCW) .